Welcome to the family – let it rip!

Let’s face it, by the time you get to be our age you are counting your blessings if both of your parents are still together or alive. These days, 1 in 4 wind up divorced and the average life span in the U.S. is 78 (as of 2008). I count my blessings that I have one parent left, my father. He remarried a couple of years ago to a really nice woman. She’s not my mother, but she’s very nice plus she loves and takes care of my Dad so who could really ask for anything more.

A decade or so ago I moved across the country for a job. After four years my mother finally came out for a visit once she accepted the fact that I wasn’t away at college and that I may not be returning home anytime soon. My father on the other hand, fears earthquakes, so he has never been. That is, until this past week.

He, along with his new wife, finally came to visit my husband and I after 10 years and 45 days of me being here. They could only stay two and a half days before heading to Vegas for the Texas Hold’em Tournament so we packed as much site seeing  in as we could in that short time. He had one thing on his list that he definitely wanted to see, which I had taken my mother to see as well,  — the Mystery Spot in Santa Cruz, California. A freakish force of nature that can only be seen and not described, for it wouldn’t do it justice. Let’s just say that I saw gravity defied. It wasn’t an optical illusion and totally worth the $5 admission.

Afterward we headed to Carmel by the Sea for a little shopping. During that jaunt is where I learned that she doesn’t EVER fart in front of my father. He said she’s a lady and that she doesn’t fart in front of others. He said that he told her she could and that he didn’t mind, but she replied almost embarrassed at the thought, “I just can’t do it.”

This was fascinating to me because if you can’t fart in front of your own family, who can you fart in front of? As my mother used to say, “Let ’em out! They aren’t paying any rent!” The greatest thing about family is they accept you warts and all (including farts). So I ponder on why you wouldn’t let one rip in front of your family.

Seriously, are you really going to let a little air come between us? I think not, so next time you are hanging out with your family, feel free to let it rip!

For some interesting  fart facts, like how much gas does a normal person pass per day or why are the stinky ones always warm and silent, check out this site. You gotta love the internet.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Deborah on June 27, 2010 - 2:33 pm

    Tracy- this will have me laughing all day! I get embarrassed to EVEN say the word- but as I have gotten older I have come to terms with the fact that it is a normal part of life and we all do it!!!

  2. #2 by Rita Bubb on June 27, 2010 - 6:01 pm

    Tracy,
    I could no more do that than your mother can.I wouldn’t do that in front of my husband unless it is totally accidental. As for in front of family, uh uh…no. As I get older, I find control is getting more difficult and that upsets me, and I’ll pray for a tight sphincter every night. Do the Keogel exercises work for this? Can’t hurt, though.
    So don’t listen for any music of the anal type coming from me.
    I have a daughter living near where you must be. She is in Mountain View.
    Rita

Leave a Reply

