Back out in the job search game (at my age)

After almost ten years at a company I feel like I’ve just  been through a divorce having been let go and thrown back into the dating pool all over again. Yikes!

My how much has changed. I haven’t interviewed in a very long time. Now I am out there like 1 of a million other fish in the job search sea. The process is all online now. You can even check the status of all of the jobs you applied for if they use software like Jobvite.

But make no mistake, it’s a bear out there. I am now competing with 20 somethings fresh out of college or thirty somethings who went back for their MBA or Masters during the dot bomb. It’s insane.

I didn’t go to an ivy league school and I partied like a rock star twenty years ago while in college, so there is no fat chance I’m  ever getting into Google. No biggie. I’m over that one. But the process is cumbersome and laborious. Looking for a job is essentially like a full-time job.

Not only is it time consuming, but one needs to get up to speed on social networking and fast. I am quickly learning that it’s not only what you know, but who you know at a company that will quickly get your resume out of the slush pile and into the hands of someone who matters. LinkedIn and Plaxo are just two sites that offer places for recruiters to look for talent and research whether you would add value to a company or not. So go brush up your LinkedIn or Plaxo profile asap.

, , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

